The Sordid Liar… a mascot for Sordid Lies

Will originally start out with the idea of creating an Ident for the band. A short animation to be played before every video, after that, the mascot seen in this ident could be seen alongside a few music videos, that’s the general idea. First thing’s first, I need to design her. Decided for a her because the band’s main theme is all about decadence and hedonism. With song’s such as “Devil’s Daughter” and “Sleaze Rock Sinners” being amongst the first written, I figured this would be a good starting point. An attractive succubus-like woman with demonic features, tempting you into sin so that you may forever belong to her. I drew on clothing ideas from the 80’s all girl glam-rock band Vixen.

Sordid liar

I feel I’m on the right track, but the wings are a bit much, and I feel the clothes aren’t flattering enough.

Sordid liar
Sordid liar

I went too far in the wrong direction with these ones and need to dial it back a bit. At least I got the provocative poses down.
Sordid liar
Sordid liar
Sordid liar
Now I feel like I’m getting somewhere, I just need to finalise the clothing design.
Sordid liar
Ultimately, I went for big shoulder pads with rolled up sleeves on a cropped jacket. Big hair (to hide the horns at first) I decided on short shorts with a suspender design rather than skinny jeans, and finally, some floppy cowboy boots. I feel these fashion designs best reflect that of that year and style the Sordid Lies band is meant to represent. (80’s hair metal, glam rock)

The Sordid Liar… a mascot for Sordid Lies

One thought on “The Sordid Liar… a mascot for Sordid Lies

Leave a Reply

