Skill building – 3D Realisation

I’ve been putting off learning 3DS max but with thanks to a fellow a student, he taught me some basics of modelling and texturing. Using what I learned, I recreated a can of coke that was on my desk using simple modeling techniques, primarily extrude, inset and bevel on the initial shape. Coke Can The pin was quite difficult, I didn’t want to get in too deep so I made that can sealed. Phil did a similar model only with the pin pulled and the can opened, he told me about individual object creation and attachment, a very useful skill. Ofcourse, building the model is just half the battle, texturing is another part of it. The main way to do this is through UVW Unwrap. The idea is to take the blueprint of the model, split it apart and lay it out flat on a surface so that it can be painted or textured. This can either be through the flatten map option, which cuts corners but gives you a very cluttered layout of the model, making it difficult to decipher which part is which on more complicated model. Or you can use the Pelt option, which stretches out parts of the model you’ve selected, making it much easier to then turn those stretched out shapes into discernable ones, such as squares or rectangles. It’s important to make sure the UVW unwrap lines up perfectly with the checkered background, that way, you don’t get any tears or seams when you apply the wrap to the model. For the can, I used the pelt option in three parts, the top part (the lid), the middle, (where the logo would be) and the base. The only bit that needed to be properly shaped with the middle, as that would have the most detail, the top and bottom consists of unmarked metal. This is essentially what I ended up with: Can Now my rendered could be exported into photoshop where I can apply the logo and colouring, making sure to save as a TARGA file, that translates the best.

With the UVW unwrap open, I now had to apply the bitmap to the material and then render it once more. I even added a specular map over the top to give it some reflection.

Coke can

Important to note, specular mapping doesn’t require any colour, I simply had to remove all the colour from the original UVW and apply either black or white with varying shades. The closer it was to white, the shinier the object appears.

Not to be confused with specular colouring.

Now armed with this knowledge I plan to model a few more practice objects and do some animation in the software as well.

Skill building – 3D Realisation

Leave a Reply

